Home The Action Management Committee Martin Lauritzen (DK)


Professor Martin Lauritzen MD

Department of Clinical Neurophysiology & Deparment of Neuroscience and Pharmacology, 
Glostrup Hospital and University of Copenhagen,
DK-2600 Glostrup,

Phone: +45 38632500
Fax: +45 38633933
Cell: +45 24841840
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Research Interests
In the normal brain, blood flow and energy turnover varies with activity, i.e. signalling in and between neurons and associated astrocytes, organized in large-scale synaptic networks. The energy turnover associated with this activity leads to increased blood flow, which is the basis for the powerful neuroimaging techniques that have revolutionized the mapping of human brain function. One of the key molecules in coupling nerve cell activity to blood flow is nitric oxide, but recent discoveries suggest that carbon monooxide may also contribute to the blood flow control. Our research is focused on determining the relation between nerve cell signalling and the cerebral circulation specifically in relation to signalling molecules, including, but not limited to gaseous transmitters.

Selected Recent Publications

  • Attwell D, Buchan AM, Charpak S, Lauritzen M,MacVicar BA, Newman EA.Glial and neuronal control of brain blood flow. Nature. 2010, 468:232-243.
  • Lauritzen M, Dreier JP, Fabricius, M, Hartings, J, Graf R, Strong AJ.Clinical relevance of cortical spreading depression in neurological disorders: migraine, malignant stroke, subarachnoid & intracranial hemorrhage, and traumatic brain injury. J Cereb Blood Flow Metab, 2011, 31:17-35.
  • Piilgaard H, Witgen BM, Rasmussen P, Lauritzen M.Cyclosporine A, FK506, and NIM811 ameliorate prolonged CBF reduction and impaired neurovascular coupling after cortical spreading depression. J Cereb Blood Flow Metab, 2011, 31: 1588-1598.



POLICY STATEMENT: Biomedicine and Molecular Biosciences Action BM1005 is funded by COST, through its implementing agent the European Science Foundation.